LMSA is composed of 5 regions:
Midwest, Northeast, Southeast, Southwest, and West.

Midwest region

LMSA Midwest was originally founded as the Latino Midwest Medical Student Association or LMMSA in 1990 at the University of Illinois. It is a student run organization dedicated to issues of advocacy, access and education of Latino and Latina students in medicine and health care.

The LMSA Midwest consists of dedicated medical students from Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

Northeast region

The LMSA Northeast was originally formed as the National Boricua Latino Health Organization (NBLHO) and is a Latino student group representing health professions students from the northeast region of the United States. NBLHO was formed in 1970 in response to Latino medical students demanding a voice. Today, there are approximately eleven active medical school chapters, and 200 medical student members in the area between Washington, D.C. and Maine.

Southeast region

The LMSA Southeast region is composed of the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and the common wealth of Puerto Rico. Active chapters are located in the state of Georgia, Florida, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. The Garcia Leadership Advocacy Seminar was hosted at Duke University in 2005.

Southwest region

The LMSA Southwest region is composed of the states of Arkansas, Colorado, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. There are nine active medical schools. The SW region held it’s first regional conference in 2007 with the efforts of Anthony Oliva (MD, PhD student) and regional officers.

West region

The LMSA West region was originally called the Chicano/Latino Medical Student Association (CMSA) founded as a network of medical students across the entire state of California and established  in 1982. In April of 1984 the CMSA was introduced as a statewide organization. Subsequently, in order to streamline its outreach efforts to students and to create name recognition conformity with other similar organizations throughout the country, the Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA) was created to carry on the CMSA vision, with great success. Finally in 2010 at the 1st independent NNLAMS conference the name LMSA was adopted as the name of the national organization and henceforth the former LMSA would be known as LMSA West.  LMSA West has thirteen active medical schools throughout California, Arizona, Washington, Oregon and Utah.

LMSA operations and vision.

The affairs of LMSA is managed and directed by an Executive Board, composed of ten members, two from each of the five LMSA Regional Sections. The board is the voting entity of LMSA and coordinate to achieve national unifed efforts among the regions.

The central operating core of LMSA consists of 12 officers who are responsible for maintaining a functional platform and organizational vision for the board members to make decisions and collaborate.

LMSA’ executive director is Phil DeChavez MD, MPH. Dr. DeChavez provides guidance and support to the board and officers throughout the course of their yearly positions.

10 Executive

Board of Director Members

12 National Officers
MW: 2 board members
NE: 2 board members
SE: 2 board members
SW: 2 board members
W : 2 board members
National Coordinator
National Coordinator-Elect
Membership Chair
Fundraising Chair
Regional Development Chair
AMA-CMSO Liaison
Publications Co-Chairs

National Conference Chair: This position works directly with the board and officers of LMSA and spearheads the National Conference Committee. The Annual LMSA conference is the culmination of the year’s work and provides a moment to reflect upon our current goals and future endeavors.

Donate Today


Join Us

  • Join National Committees

Our Affiliates

Social Media